Triumph Club of North Florida TCNF
Serving Jacksonville and the "First Coast" of Florida


In December, 1981 the North Florida Triumph Owner’s Association was established in Jacksonville, FL by Garry & Kathee Murphy, Peter & Sandy Palmrose and Dave & Vicki Hagenbuch (who subsequently went to work for the Roadster Factory). The association later disbanded.

In December of 1988 the club was reborn as the Triumph Club of North Florida under the cultivation of Bob Pace, Bob Pilling and Matt Rund.  Some of the new members during that first year were: Lynn Newman, Jay Hamm, Don Marshall, Norm Reimer, Mike Smith, Todd Corder, George Osmundsen, Mike Widman and Walt Lanz.  Tech Advisor was Dewey Miller.

During that first year the club joined the Vintage Triumph Register (VTR) and participated in a SEVTR Regional held by the Central Florida car clubs, took a weekend trip to a bed and breakfast in Georgia and held a Christmas party.

By 1989 the club had grown to 43 members.  On October 14, 1989 the TCNF co-hosted the Jacksonville British Car Classic MKI with the MG club at Hanna Park.  This annual event is hosted in alternate years by the two clubs to this day.

In 1990, club members Brian & Angela Kent, Sue & Norm Reimer, Mike & Pam Smith and his parents took a trip to merry ole England to visit the TR shop and of course to see Buckingham Palace, the Tower of London, Greenwich, car museums, pubs, and Herrods!  Walt Lanz established the club web site and maintains it (see

October, 1991 TCNF hosted a very successful VTR SE Regional at Jekyll Island, GA.

In 1992 members attended the VTR National in Savannah, GA.  Again, in 1994 many in the club attended the VTR National in Ashville, NC.

In 1996 our British Car Classic MKVIII had 1,500 visitors and 120 cars.  Glass beer mugs, ceramic tiles and t-shirts are memorabilia of the show.  The event is now open to all British cars. This show was dedicated to George Osmundsen, technical editor and advisor for the club since its inception.  The George Osmundsen Award for Amateur Restoration Excellence was inaugurated and presented to Pierre Moreau’s 1954 MGTF.

Winners of George Osmundsen Award for Amateur Restoration Excellence

 1996 Pierre Moreau 1954 MGTF

1998 George Proctor 1971 TR6

2000 Richard Stevenson 1956 Austin Healey 100M

2002 Lynn Newman 1963 TR4


2006 Lony Taylor 1963 Austin Healey 3000

In 1997 Col. Arthur M. Kelly, Jr. became the VTR Consultant for TR4, a position he holds today in Ft. Worth, TX where he relocated in 2006.

In 1998 TCNF started SCCA auto cross racing led by Don Marshall with interest shown by Dave Finkelstein, Walt Lanz and Norm Reimer.

In October 1999 again hosted a VTR SE Regional in Lake City, FL.

In 2000 proceeds from the TCNF British Car Classic MKXI auction of three parts cars were donated to support Sav-A Child Foundation.

In 2001 the first August annual family picnic at Camp Blanding was started by Stan & Lily Kinmonth

In 2006 the TCNF British Car Classic MKXVII show proceeds benefited St. Andrews Lighthouse and Second Harvest Food Bank.

Our members participate in a variety of events, including tech sessions, autocross, scenic tours, fun rallyes, car shows, VTR Nationals and Regionals, our annual picnic and Christmas party, our British Car Classic, and weekend jaunts to bed & breakfasts.  Membership entitles you to our monthly newsletter published by Lance Brazil, our club regalia: golf shirts, jackets, caps, plus the camaraderie and help of TR loving folks.

Since 1997 meetings have been held at Ann Dyke’s Kings Head British Pub in St. Augustine from 1-4:00 on the first Sunday of the month.  We invite you to attend one of our meetings and consider becoming a member.

Compiled by Barbara Lanz

October, 2007



         Top of Page          Home

(c) Triumph Club of North Florida, 1999  For page design comments and questions email the TCNF webmaster at